Para español, seleccione de la lista

National Register of Historic Places

Who We Are & What We Do

Some descriptionThe National Register of Historic Places is an official listing of historically significant sites and properties throughout the country. It is maintained by the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior. It includes districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that have been identified and documented as being significant in American history, architecture, archaeology, engineering or culture. These sites and properties reflect the prehistoric occupation and historical development of our nation, state, and local communities.

Listing in the National Register does not, in itself, impose any obligation on the property owner, or restrict the owner's basic right to use and dispose of the property as he or she sees fit. It does, however, encourage the preservation of significant historic resources in three ways:

  1. by providing official recognition of the historic significance of the property and encouraging consideration of its historic value in future development planning,
  2. by imposing limited protection from activities involving funding, licensing, or assistance by Federal agencies that could result in damage or loss of its historic values, and
  3. by making the property eligible for Federal financial incentives for historic preservation

Some descriptionRedevelopment of a listed property which involves Federal funding, licensing, or assistance will be subject to review by the State Historic Preservation Officer and the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation to assure that adequate and appropriate consideration is given to the preservation of the historic qualities for which it was originally listed. This review requirement will also apply to any Federally funded, licensed, or assisted activities undertaken by others that could have an adverse effect on the property.

Federal financial incentives for historic preservation include eligibility for direct matching grants and investment tax credits for the rehabilitation of income producing properties.

National Register Contacts:

For inquiries, please find the staff member responsible for your region of Florida:

North Florida reviewer, Mr. Andrew Waber -

(Counties: Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Jackson, Bay, Calhoun, Gulf, Liberty, Gadsden, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, Baker, Union, Bradford, Alachua, Marion, Citrus, Hernando, Pasco, Sumter, Nassau, Duval, Clay, St. Johns, Putnam, Flagler, Lake, and Volusia)

South Florida reviewers, Dr. Carl Shiver – and Mr. Max Imberman -

(Counties: Seminole, Orange, Pinellas, Hillsborough, Polk, Osceola, Brevard, Manatee, Sarasota, DeSoto, Hardee, Highlands, Okeechobee, Indian River, St. Lucie, Martin, Charlotte, Lee, Glades, Hendry, Palm Beach, Collier, Broward, Monroe, and Miami-Dade)


R. A. Gray Building
500 S. Bronough Street, Room 417
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250